N E W S F E E D S >>>
Social Groups Index

Community Pages

Agricultural Society - Latheron

President Secretary  
Maureen Coghill
Mid Clyth Caithness
01593 721490
David Mackay
Parkside, Lybster
01593 721494

Latheron Agricultural Society
Latheron Shows - Photos

The 2007 Latheron Show
The Latheron Show is taking place on Saturday the 14th July 2007
Again in Occumster Courtesy of Mr & Mrs D Gunn.

Numbers already are higher than usual, and all entries have to be in soon.
For Highland 2007 the show has received funding to provide a CRAFT AND PRODUCE TENT free for this year tables can be booked by phoning Secretary David Mackay Parkside Lybster.

The Flower tent this year has an unusual theme; WEDDINGS entry forms are out in the flower shops now.
The reason for the wedding theme is ,we are actuaally having a wedding on the field!!!!!!! at 4.pm Mr and Mrs Gunn's son Raymond ( a past president) will marry his partner Nikki in the Flower tent!
A first for Latheron Show.

Some of the winning entries will be used by the bride and bridesmaids for the wedding. What an honour for the winners! ( I am sure the press will be there to take pictures ) A bigger tent for the flowers and wedding has been hired so we need more entries this year.

All you flower enthusiasts can compete for the special event!

Again the Horse Jumping will be a favourite everyone has enjoyed the horses jumping against the clock later in the afternoon. Judging for the horses begins between 8-9am

Flower and Home Industries will close for judging at 10 am prompt so be on time!

the RAF have promised to come and give a display in the main ring.

Vintage Machinery judging will be at 1.00.pm

We need more teams for the tug-o-war, so get some pals together and come along.

Junior tug-o-war last year was well participated in so if we have someont to give us a thinner rope it will go ahead this year. Childrens sports and the dog show enteries have been high over the last few years. Two cups are up for grabs at the sports!

Even the dancers take part iIt is a sight to see with the kilts flying along.

The Highland dancing competition is now established and entries will be taken on the day
It is organised by the Tanya Horne school of dance.

I will be commentating for the day joined by Peter Mackay for the afternoon. So any bits of information come along and chat to us at the wee black tent!

Latheron Show has received grants from AWARDS FOR ALL over the last two years and have been able to purchase our own tents, gates, chairs for the public, generators, storage containers, signs Dancing Platform etc etc.

We are very excited to at last have our own equipment so thank you to Awards for All

Presidents 1911 - 2002
1911 - 1923 Donald Mackay, Thurso
1924 - 1932 William Mackenzie, Latheronwheeel Mains
1933 - 1964 John Gunn, Lybster Mains
1965 - 1975 F A MacGregor, Latheron Mains
1976 - 1977 Donald Sutherland, Houstry
1978 - 1983 Alex Bain, Smerlie
1984 - 1985 W R S MacDonald, Swiney
1986 - 1987 James Sinclair, Clachan
1988 - 1989 Raymond Gunn, Mowat Place, Lybster
1990 - 1991 James MacGregor, Remiggy, Lybster
1992 - 1993 John Poilson, Portland Place, Lybster
1994 - 1995 G Sinclair, Nottingham Mains, Latheron
1996 - 1997 J S Mackay, Hillhead, Lybster
1998 - 2001 Raymond Gunn, Chimneys, Lybster
2002 -          Ian Sinclair, Clyth Mains., Lybster